CARMEN HEALING

Healing and Coaching

Nederlands (Dutch)English (UK)

A Short Biography
Carmen O'Dwyer
Healer, Chinese Herbalist, coach, and teacher
 

Carmen's Photo

I was born and raised in Bucaramanga, Colombia. I come from a family of 3 children, of whom I am the youngest.

Since my childhood I showed intense curiosity and appetite for learning about people, about culture, and language. I was constantly questioning why words and expressions were used differently in different context. Giving context to experiences, feelings, body sensations, spiritual practices, relationships, or any other topic, is a theme in my life. 

As a child I studied English, French and German as a hobby. I played basketball and practice Taekwondo. I joined a spiritual group when I was very young, around 5-6 years of age, where I met whom I consider my heart guru (the person who provided a context and meaning to my soul and my life's path). At a young age, I already had many experiences with premonitions, dreams and visions. This spiritual practice gave it a context and a sense of normality which allow it to be for what it was - an expression of soul. 

Next to this curiosity and freedom of exploration, I also felt during my childhood an intense need to perform and achieve. Now I understand this as my "solution" to be able to later become independent and extract myself from what I experienced as rather difficult family circumstances.

After high school, I lived in Miami, where I completed an Associate Degree in Arts. I continued my higher education in Bogot√°, Colombia, and completed an university degree in Industrial Engineering with a Minor in Mathematics, and a post-graduate degree in Finance at Universidad de los Andes. Years later, in-between jobs, I decided to complete a M.B.A. (Master of Business Administration) at the University of Rochester, in Rochester, New York State, U.S.A.

I have held many jobs: project manager construction site; financial analyst planning and control; investment banker; planning and control, and product manager for a product group in an international bank; ALM risk manager for an international bank; controller for a small business, and office manager for a nonprofit organization.

After I arrived in Amsterdam, I decided to change my career, and look for a profession where my soft skills were better used. This change came as a result of a burn-out; a period where I had to review all my life assumptions and give the tumultuous period of my childhood a context. When I came to Amsterdam, I was in survival mode. This realisation was what allowed me to make a new choice into normal mode of living. My meeting Barry, whom later became my husband, catalised a lot of this development. He provided the support and the mirror to reflect on what I longed for in my life: a more balanced way of living, which gave space to my spiritual practices and allowed me to teach (coach) and to continue learning.

This is when I decided in 2005 to re-train myself as a healer (formal name: Psycho-Spiritual Energy Training). I have a diploma from Snowlion Center School in Switzerland, founded by Rolf Thomas Steiner.

In 2019, I completed my degree in Traditional Chinese Herbal Medicine (TCM) at Shenzhou Open University in The Netherlands. The context and framework that Chinese Medicine provides in guiding lifestyle choices and relieving chronic conditions is very profound in allowing for the body and mind to restore well-being.

I am still happily married to Barry. We both love it here and Amsterdam is now our hometown. I support him with the publication of his newsletter The Intuitive Investor, where I provide the editorial and number skills. As the name indicates, Barry is also interested in intuition, spirituality and how it can be used in earthly issues, such as money and investing. He also is an expert with the I Ching oracle and offers readings and interpretations to people. You can check it out on his own website www.IntuitiveIChing.com.

I love walking outdoors, and sitting by the beach to breathe sea air. Recently I started playing basketball again, one of my passions in my teenage years. I have also developed a passion for baking, and have learned to make bread, cakes, pastries and tarts. Really yummy!